Question about a Problem from Sakurai

• Thread starter Xyius
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Sakurai
In summary, the conversation is about a student seeking help with a problem from the Sakurai book on Quantum mechanics. The solution provided includes a probability interpretation and identification of the partition function, but the student still does not fully understand the reasoning behind it.
Xyius
Hello!

I am studying the Sakurai book on Quantum mechanics and I am doing a problem. I have the solutions to the problems to help me understand the material better but I do not understand this solution.

Homework Statement

SEE "Sakurai Problem 1" in attachments

K is the propagator in wave mechanics.

2. Solution

SEE "Sakurai Problem 1" in attachments

There are a few parts of this solution that I do not understand.

1.) In the first part it states that "The probability is.."

[tex]P(Ea')=exp(-βEa')/Z[/tex]

Probability of what? It doesn't actually tell me what the "Partition function" is or means. Isn't the propagator an operator? I thought in order to have a probability you need to have a state in mind.

2.) I also do not understand why the ground state energy is equal to that summation "U=..." in the next line.

3.) I do not understand the first change of variables in the differential, da' = L/2π dk

If anyone could help me understand this, it would be much appreciated! :D

Attachments

• sakurai problem 1.png
    sakurai problem 1.png
    10.5 KB · Views: 507
  • sakurai problem 2.jpg
    sakurai problem 2.jpg
    52.8 KB · Views: 493
Physics news on Phys.org
If beta were an inverse temperature, P would be the probability to find E_a' in a canonical ensemble.
The precise probability interpretation does not matter too much, as all you want to show is that the limit on beta gives you the ground state energy.
No, the propagator isn't an operator but a matrix element of the the time evolution operator between states <x',t'| and |x,0>.