Solving Problems With pdftex & MikTeX: Tips For Presentations

• Thread starter nbo10
  • Start date
In summary, pdftex and MikTeX are software programs used for creating high-quality PDF documents and are ideal for presentations due to their features and compatibility. To solve problems with these programs, regularly updating and checking for conflicts is recommended, along with utilizing online resources and debugging tools. They can also be used for other types of documents, but may have limitations for beginners and certain advanced formatting options.
nbo10
Anyone here get pdftex package to work? I'm using it along with the foils package to make a presentation. pdftex doesn't like the geometry or color options.

Computer science news on Phys.org
Perhaps you meant to use pdflatex.

- Warren

Hi there,

I have not personally used pdftex for presentations, but I have some experience with MikTeX and other typesetting software. From what I understand, pdftex is a typesetting engine that converts LaTeX code into PDF format. It is often used for creating high-quality documents, but it can also be used for presentations.

As for the issue you are experiencing with the geometry and color options, it is possible that pdftex is not recognizing these commands. This could be due to a number of reasons, such as outdated packages or conflicting settings. I would recommend checking the pdftex documentation or reaching out to their support team for assistance.

In the meantime, you may want to consider using an alternative typesetting engine, such as XeTeX or LuaTeX, which have more advanced features and may better support the options you are trying to use. Additionally, you could try using a different presentation package instead of foils, as it may have better compatibility with pdftex.

I hope this helps and good luck with your presentation!

Related to Solving Problems With pdftex & MikTeX: Tips For Presentations

What is pdftex and MikTeX?