Help with Differential Forms - self wedge product terms

thatboi
I'm completely new to differential forms so I am having trouble following the arguments from the following post: https://physics.stackexchange.com/q...non-trivial-fiber-bundles-chern-simons-theory
Specifically:
1.) In equation (12) of the accepted answer, where did the self wedge product terms go, i.e. ##F_{D} \wedge F_{D}##?
2.) Similarly, in (18), where did terms like ##A_{S_{1}} \wedge dA_{S_{1}}## go?
3.) What is the intuition behind the last statement: " the contributions from the adjacent parts of the different patches' boundaries cancel each other". How do I see this?

Any help is appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
Wedge is antisymmetric, i.e., ##A \wedge B = -(B \wedge A)##. This implies that ##A \wedge A = -(A \wedge A)=0##.

Hill said:
Wedge is antisymmetric, i.e., ##A \wedge B = -(B \wedge A)##. This implies that ##A \wedge A = -(A \wedge A)=0##.
I thought this only held for A and B that are odd-number forms.

##a\wedge a=0## is part of the definition of a Graßmann algebra and ##d\omega \wedge d\omega =0## for differential forms. Note that exterior (Cartan) derivatives have a sign in ##d(\omega_1\wedge \omega_2).## See Cartan derivative in
https://www.physicsforums.com/insig...#C-–-Exterior-Derivative-or-Cartan-Derivative
\begin{align*}
\int_X F\wedge F&=\int_X (F_D+F_{S^2})\wedge (F_D+F_{S^2})\\
&=\int_X\underbrace{F_D\wedge F_D}_{=0}+ \int_X (F_D\wedge F_{S^2}) +\int_X (F_{S^2}\wedge F_D)+ \int_X \underbrace{F_{S^2}\wedge F_{S^2}}_{=0} \\
&=\left(\int_D F_D\right)\cdot \left(\int_{S^2}F_{S^2}\right) +\left(\int_{S^2}F_{S^2}\right)\cdot\left(\int_D F_D\right)\\
&=2\left(\int_D F_D\right)\cdot \left(\int_{S^2}F_{S^2}\right)
\end{align*}