Good Diff EQ Book? EE Major Suggestions

In summary, a differential equation is a mathematical equation that describes the relationship between a function and its derivatives. It is important for an EE major to study differential equations because they are used to understand and analyze electrical circuits, systems, and signals. A good differential equations book should have clear explanations, a variety of examples and exercises, and a good balance between theory and applications. Some recommended books for EE majors include "Differential Equations with Applications and Historical Notes" by George F. Simmons, "Differential Equations for Engineers and Scientists" by Cengel and Palm, and "Differential Equations and Linear Algebra" by Farlow, Hall, McDill, and West. There are also many online resources available for studying differential equations,
kdinser
Can somone recommend a good diff EQ book? Something that would be good for learning it on your own. I'm majoring in electrical engineering, not mathmatics, if that makes any difference to your suggestions. Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
I used . Good price and good quality. Although I'm not a huge fan of the way Dover typeset their books, I highly recommend these.

Last edited by a moderator:

As an electrical engineering major, I highly recommend "Differential Equations and Linear Algebra" by C. Henry Edwards and David E. Penney. This book provides a comprehensive introduction to differential equations and their applications in engineering. It is written in a clear and concise manner, making it easy to understand for self-study.

Another great option is "Elementary Differential Equations and Boundary Value Problems" by William E. Boyce and Richard C. DiPrima. This book covers a wide range of topics in differential equations and includes many real-world examples and applications, making it a valuable resource for engineering students.