Fix Unbootable Hard Drive - Get Help Now!

In summary: F2), and make sure the boot device is set to the hard drive. If it still doesn't work, it might be time for a new hard drive.
Mc.
Hi guys

I need help with my pc I use for my projects and programming.It doesn't want to boot from the hard drive and really need it to because I have some very important information in it. I am not good with hardware(hope one day i will) but have tried everything I can to get it working again. So please guy, anyone who can help unleash this matter please help me.

Any help is really appreciated
Mc.

Computer science news on Phys.org
Can you give us some info on what happens when you turn it on? "It doesn't boot" doesn't help us much.

Hey thanks for the interest.
When I switch it on it says "boot system failer insert disk and press enter" and when I do that it continues to load windows setup and then it says there is no hard drive installed.

Mc.

I'd get myself a live cd of UBUNTU (www.ubuntu.com) and boot off of that. from there you just go to PLACES>>Computer and see if the drive was found. you can then burn all of your info to cd from there.

Sounds like dieing sectors to me. Is your computer a Dell or Gateway by any chance? The easiest fix will be to go out and buy another HD and after installing it and reloading your OS, plug in your old one as a secondary to retrieve your data.

cds are a lot cheaper than harddrives... another check is to see if it is a hardware problem. Does you BIOS detect the drive, because if it doesn't than the above 2 ideas are pointless. check this by hitting <del> or <F2> right at startup and go to the corresponding menu for IDE or SATA HDD detection. If it doesn't detect it it could be that the harddrive is completely crapped out, or it could be the cable or the motherboard channel, or the power.