Which IDE is best for a college student learning multiple programming languages?

• Thread starter Akshay_Anti
  • Start date
In summary: Netbeans does not have a debugger, but it does provide syntax highlighting and code completion. Unfortunately, it is not as user-friendly as Visual Studio.
Akshay_Anti
Hello, I am a college gong student and thus will be taught about new programing languages like C/C++, Java, HTML, etc. I am using dev cpp as IDE at the moment. However, I am not comfortable with the same and want to switch. A senior of mine suggested me using Netbeans, another Visual Studio and yet another Eclipse. I am confused. Which one shall i use that is user friendly and encompasses quite many languages in itself?

Thanks in advance

Technology news on Phys.org
I think it's wise not to get too attached to any particular IDE. During my time at uni, I needed to use Eclipse, Netbeans and Visual Studio at different times because of language / plugin requirements. They're all nice enough, but each one takes quite a bit of getting used to. I'm using Netbeans at the moment for Java EE development.

Most of the time I like to use a nice text editor like Sublime Text, but Java EE is quite painful without an IDE to hold it together, at least for a novice like me.

Note: I don't think Visual Studio supports Java (or any, non-MS related languages really). Eclipse and Netbeans both support a very wide range of languages.

I will not provide advice for Java and HTML.

For C/C++ it is crucial that the IDE provides syntax highlighting and support for operating the build tools and the debugger efficiently.

Custom indentation and interactive completion is also nice to have - e.g. sometimes you know a certain class functionality quite well but wonder what the correct sequence of arguments for the c'tor is, and having a choice list popping up at your cursor is an asset then.