Where Can I Find Affordable Mechanism Design Software?

In summary, mechanism design software is a computer program used for creating and simulating mechanical systems, allowing for faster and more accurate design iterations. It can be used to design various systems and components, and works by simulating their behavior using mathematical algorithms. However, it may have limitations in accurately simulating complex behaviors and requires technical expertise to use effectively.
McGonigle
Hello, This is my first time here. Great site! I've searched for a while but didn't find anything. Is there cheap or free software I can download to design 4-bar or whatever linkage mechanisms like in http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M-tHXsWioR4"?

Thanks,
B

Last edited by a moderator:
Engineering news on Phys.org
try catiav5 or v6, it's the best designing software,as far as i know it's costly

Related to Where Can I Find Affordable Mechanism Design Software?

1. What is mechanism design software?

Mechanism design software is a type of computer program that is used to create and simulate mechanical systems. It allows scientists, engineers, and designers to model and analyze the movement and behavior of various mechanical components in order to optimize their design.

2. What are the benefits of using mechanism design software?

The main benefit of using mechanism design software is that it allows for faster and more accurate design iterations. By simulating the behavior of mechanical systems, designers can identify and address potential issues before physically building the system. This can save time, money, and resources in the overall design process.

3. What types of mechanical systems can be designed using this software?