What to review for solving electromagnetism's problem?

• Thread starter budafeet57
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Review
In summary, if you want to successfully tackle problems in electromagnetism, it is important to review and solidify your understanding of calculus concepts and techniques.
budafeet57
Reviewing Calculus to do electromagnetism's problem

Hi all
I am taking physics class in college which deals mainly with electromagnetism now. We use the textbook Physics for Scientist and Engineering by Giancoli.
It's been two years since last time I studied Calculus. I am running into problems such as electric force to a point from a uniformly charged ring that need integral and derivative. I have answer for question in my textbook, but I don't understand how to set up the question and solve them. I just want to know what topics I should review in Calculus in order to do it.

Thanks

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
in advance.In order to work through problems involving electromagnetism, you will need to brush up on your calculus skills. Specifically, you will need to become familiar with the concepts of derivatives and integrals. You should also review topics such as limits, continuity, and derivatives of different types of functions, including polynomials, trigonometric functions, and exponential functions. Additionally, you should look at techniques for evaluating integrals, such as integration by parts and substitution methods. Finally, you should also review vector calculus, as it is essential for understanding electromagnetism.

Related to What to review for solving electromagnetism's problem?

1. What are the basic principles of electromagnetism?

The basic principles of electromagnetism involve the relationship between electricity and magnetism. This includes concepts such as electric charge, electric fields, magnetic fields, and electromagnetic induction.

2. How do I approach solving problems in electromagnetism?