What should I do with my life? At a crossroads

• Thread starter Physics_UG
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Life
In summary, this person graduated college with an EE degree and is currently unemployed and unhappy with their chosen profession. They are considering becoming a medical doctor, but their parents are against the idea because of the amount of debt they would need to take out. They suggest trying different professions or exploring their hobbies more.
Physics_UG
Gold Member
I graduated college with an EE degree (and lots of chemistry) back in 2008. I went into a PhD program for a year and was somewhat successful in my research and good enough in my classes. However, I had a nervous breakdown that forced me to leave. I looked for a job to no avail and went back to the same grad school with no funding and I took out additional loans. Well, I ended up getting severely depressed and I ended up dropping out. When I dropped out I had a long string my short term jobs and the most recent one I was fired from because I didn't "show enough initiative".

Now I am unemployed and I am unhappy with doing engineering for the rest of my life. I considered becoming a hs teacher but the amount of things required to get a teaching credential turns me off considering the abysmal pay.

Now I would like to become a medical doctor. All I need to take is 2 bio classes with labs and the MCAT (and shadowing/volunteering). However, my parents are against the idea because I would need to take out ~200K in loans and since I have screwed up so many times before they are afraid I will ended up dropping out of med school.

Should I just follow my instincts and try getting into med school or should I continue looking for a job as an engineer even though it doesn't make me happy?

Thanks,

PhysicsUG

Physics news on Phys.org
Also, I am not exactly a spring chicken. I am 27