What Is the Origin of the Singlet State in Quantum Mechanics?

• I
  • Thread starter Physgeek64
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Singlet
In summary, a singlet is a type of particle with a spin of 0 and is considered the simplest quantum mechanical system. It can arise through spin pairing or particle decay and has properties such as being a boson, having a neutral charge, and being its own antiparticle. Examples of singlets can be found in subatomic particles and chemical reactions, and they are important in the Standard Model and have practical applications in fields such as quantum computing and nuclear imaging.
Physgeek64
I'm currently reading "Quantum Mechanics, The Theoretical Minimum" and on page 166 the singlet state is introduced. However there is no explanation as to where this comes from and appears to be plucked from thin air. I had a look at a previous PF thread https://www.physicsforums.com/threads/how-do-i-get-the-singlet-state.67769/ however I'm a complete novice when it comes to QM and this is slightly beyond my knowledge. I would be very greatful is someone could possibly explain this to me either fully or partially.

Many thanks :)

Physics news on Phys.org
A very general statement would be that a singlet (with regard to specific symmetry) is a state that is not affected by operations (that keep the symmetry)
it is like a scaler.
A good examples are:
1) spin-0 particles are singlets with regards to rotations
2) uncharged particles are singlets with regards to the em field (u(1) internal symmetry)

ohad said:
A very general statement would be that a singlet (with regard to specific symmetry) is a state that is not affected by operations (that keep the symmetry)
it is like a scaler.
A good examples are:
1) spin-0 particles are singlets with regards to rotations
2) uncharged particles are singlets with regards to the em field (u(1) internal symmetry)
Thank you for your reply :) what do you mean by "with regard to specific symmetry"? :)

Many thanks