What is the missing term in equation (E)?

In summary, the conversation discusses a missing term in the equation (E) and how to find the solutions for z. It suggests using the (z-8) factor and calculating the discriminant to find z1 and z2 as 6-i√12 and 6+i√12. It also mentions that the problem has been posted on another forum for further help.
farewell
Good evening everyone,
here is the statement:

Note the equation (E):

Z³-12z² + = 48z-128.

1.Check that 8 is the solution of (E)
2.a) determine real a, b, c such that for all z C (overall)
Z³ 12z²-48z-128 + = (z-8) (az² + bz + c).
b) Solve the equation in C (E)

For 1 I thought about putting (z-8) factor which gives:
(z-8) z (z²-12z + 48) -128√?
after I have a polynomial of degree 2 and calculating the discriminant I find z1: 6-i√12 and z2: 6 + i√12
and there I do not know how ... can you enlighten me

Mathematics news on Phys.org
Hello and welcome to MHB, farewell! :D

It seems that equation (E) is missing a term, since if we remove the stray plus sign, we do not find that $z=8$ is a solution.

edit: This problem has also been posted at MMF by a user of the same name, and help is being given there.

Related to What is the missing term in equation (E)?

1. How do you solve a complex equation?

To solve a complex equation, you must first simplify the equation by combining like terms. Then, you can use various algebraic techniques such as factoring, substitution, or the quadratic formula to solve for the variable.

2. What are the steps to solving a complex equation?

The steps to solving a complex equation include simplifying the equation, isolating the variable, and then using algebraic techniques to solve for the variable. It is important to always check your solution by plugging it back into the original equation.

3. What is the quadratic formula and when is it used?