Visual Basic: Factoring Time in Light Alternation

• Thread starter nick227
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Visual
In summary, the person is working on a program to light LEDs from the parallel port of their computer and wants to alternate the lights between three colors. They are new to VB and programming in general and are wondering if there is a way to factor time into the alternating lights process. They ask if there is a way to run one set of lights for a specific amount of time before moving on to the next set. They also inquire about doing this with Java and having messages appear for a certain amount of time. They are advised to use the VB Timer control and Time functions in Java to achieve this.
nick227
Hey all. I am working on this program that will light LEDs from the parallel port of my computer. I think i have everything all set, but i want to do something cool. I was thinking of alternating lights between three colors. i am new to VB (and programming in general) and was wondering if there was a way to factor time into alternating the lights. Can i somehow make a method or some sort of loop that let's me run one set of lights for say 5 seconds or any amount of time then move on to the next set of lights? Basically, how do i factor in time?

Also, if i can do this with VB, can i do it with java? say i want to have a message appear for 10 seconds, then disappear and have another message appear for 10 seconds?

Technology news on Phys.org
nick227 said: