True or false questions for density

• Thread starter maximus123
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Density
In summary, true or false questions are a good way to launch discussions that lead to better comprehension. They are also a good way to test misconceptions on density.
maximus123
Hello, I'm a trainee teacher and I'm delivering a lesson with a practical where the students find the densities of various objects. I want to end the class with 8 to 10 true or false questions about density which test misconceptions on density. The one I have is

Is a dense object always heavy?

If anyone has any suggestions on others I could ask I would be very grateful.

Kind regards

Science news on Phys.org
maximus123 said:
Hello, I'm a trainee teacher and I'm delivering a lesson with a practical where the students find the densities of various objects. I want to end the class with 8 to 10 true or false questions about density which test misconceptions on density. The one I have is

Kind regards
Very fun question.

"Using only a Beam Balance, how can you determine which object is denser?"

"Using only plastic grocery bags and a swimming pool, how can you determine which object is denser?"

:smile:

EDIT -- Oops, sorry, I missed that they were supposed to be True/False questions. But these two questions can be re-formulated to be T/F as well.

Last edited:
BTW, my first question works for objects of different sizes, but my second question does not. Can you say why? :smile:

will an object more dense than water float? (~trick question; depends on shape)

phinds said:
trick question; depends on shape

Ack -- I'm not getting it. PM me a hint?

berkeman said:
Ack -- I'm not getting it. PM me a hint?
seems obvious, if you take a steel sheet it will sink but form it into a boat and it will float. Do you think that's somehow cheating?

phinds said:
seems obvious, if you take a steel sheet it will sink but form it into a boat and it will float. Do you think that's somehow cheating?