Thermodynamics: Explaining Entropy for KiltedEngineer

• Thread starter KiltedEngineer
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Entropy
In summary, entropy is a measure of the number of possible states a system can be in and is related to the probability distribution of the system's configurations. The concept of "disorder" is not entirely accurate and can be better understood by considering the relationship between microstates and macrostates. Entropy can also be affected by thermodynamic processes, such as heat transfer, and the second law of thermodynamics states that the combined entropy of a system can never decrease.
KiltedEngineer
I am a mechanical engineering student, but have yet to take thermodynamics. For months now, I have been reading up on thermo and am actually quite interested in it. However, I am still quite confused with the concept of entropy. Its pretty much the consencus that the "disorder" explanation is not true, and it is the measure of energy that is wasted or unavailable to do useful work in a system. Can someone explain how this concept of disorder arises from the mthematically definition and if there is any truth to it?

Thank you!
KiltedEngineer

Engineering news on Phys.org
One way to mathematically define entropy S is to relate it to the probability distribution describing a system: [tex]S=-k \sum_i^N p_i \log(p_i)[/tex]
The index i labels the different possible configurations for a system, of which there are N total, k is Boltzmann's constant, and pi is the probability that the system is in the state i. [The pi are all numbers from 0 to 1 so their logarithms monotonically increase from -∞ to 0, so the entropy is always a number greater than or equal to zero.]