The existence of like factors in num/denom if in indeterminate form?

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of infinite limits in calculus and the rule for finding vertical asymptotes. It also looks at the idea of indeterminate form and whether it implies the existence of factorable features in both the numerator and denominator. While this may be true in some cases, there are also functions that tend to indeterminate form without having this factorable feature. One example is \frac{sinx}{x}, which tends to 0/0 at x=0 but has a limit of 1.
Daniel Y.
So I'm studying infinite limits in my calculus text (seemed close enough to good old arithematic to put in general math, though), and the following rule is mentioned:

Given two functions f(x) and g(x) defined for all real numbers, when given the quotient [tex]f(x)/g(x)[/tex] where f(c) is not 0 and g(c) is 0, there is a vertical asymptote at c. But for[tex]f(c)/g(c)[/tex] where f(c) = 0 and g(c) = 0 it is not guarenteed that there is a vertical asymptote at c.

Now obviously the crappy off-the-top-of-my-head definition isn't the perfect one given in the book, but I'm sure if you're able to help you know the one I'm talking about. Now here's the thing:

Every time I've done an exercise that was in indeterminate form for a value c and found analytically for a value of x that isn't defined, I've found that the numerator and denominator have the same factor that can be canceled out. Consider the following:

[tex]f(x) = (x^2 -1)/(x-1)[/tex], when you 'input' f(1) you get 0/0, indeterminate form. But you can factor the equation to [tex] (x+1)(x-1)/(x-1) [/tex], cancel out the x-1, and see that f(1) is really 2 (or, at least, a function agreeing at every point except x = 1 is really 2).