Suggest Final Year Project for EE

In summary: With the lamp on, if you change the voltage on phase B of the M-G, the lamp will also change on phase B of the mains. So you have a way to measure the voltage and frequency of the M-G, without actually connecting them.
I_am_learning
I am nearing my final year in my EE, and I have started thinking what final year project I would do. What did you do? Please suggest me something, that is interesting to do, a bit challenging, and preferably that sells and can be implemented somewhere in real-world. I have HVDC in mind currently, but not sure how it would be.

Engineering news on Phys.org
You want to build something or just simulate it? If you want, for instance, to simulate HVDC, what is your previous background with simulation?

M.

I need to do both. I am a newbie at MATLAB simulations using simulink.

I'm not sure on what you could build for HVDC that wouldn't be expensive (and large). Perhaps you could do something about smart grids, like metering your fridge energy consumption and switching it off remotely (assuming you're looking for a project in power engineering). Or build something with power electronics, like a motor drive.

M.

I was imagining, if a scaled down version of HVDC can be demonstrated? Like running off a 2KW motor at 100m distance through a ridiculously thin wire?

What would be the point of using HVDC (which in your case might be scaled down to non-HVDC voltages) over 100m, compared to using AC? You would need to show the advantage of DC transmission over AC transmission, but that wouldn't probably be apparent in the scaled version. Nevertheless, it might be an interesting project if you compare with the real HVDC in simulation and compare the costs of a new AC line with HVDC over long distances and for different levels of power and use the scaled version to verify that the results from simulations are correct.

M.