Simulation of small satellite dynamics in software

In summary, the conversation discusses the task of simulating small satellite dynamics and the steps involved in carrying out such a simulation. The speaker is new to this and is seeking guidance on where to start and what factors to consider, such as the satellite's geometry, power source, and thruster positions. They are advised to use MATLAB and gradually add more detail to their program, starting with the position of a spherical mass rotating around the earth and then incorporating Cartesian equations of motion and quaternions.
Datri
Hello,
First time poster in this forum. I am tasked with simulating small satellite dynamics in software this summer. I am new to this and am wondering how such a simulation is carried out. More specifically I am supposed to output the vector [ x y z xdot ydot zdot q1 q2 q3 q4 w1dot w2dot w3dot] to typical force/torque input, where x,y,z are position components, q is the quaternion for the attitude of the satellite, wdot is the angular velocity derivative of the satellite.
I am specifically unclear about where to start. I am guessing the geometry of the satellite is important in this. The satellite is powered by batteries and small CO2 thrusters. I am guessing the thruster positions are also important...How does one put it all together for simulating a typical small satellite, I am talking about something of the order of a cubesat, only in my case the shape is an octagon...

Thanks,
Datri

Engineering news on Phys.org