Showing the uniform convergence of a gaussian function-like series

In summary, LCKurtz attempted to use a bell-curve function to solve a homework equation, but was unsuccessful in finding a suitable expression. He then asks for help from someone else and demonstrates that the series converges uniformly on the set -\epsilon,\epsilon\big[ where \epsilon>0.
dane502

Homework Statement

Prove that the series [tex]\sum_{n=0}^\infty e^{-n^2x^2}[/tex] converges uniformly on the set [tex]\mathbb{R}\backslash\ \big] -\epsilon,\epsilon\big[[/tex] where [tex]\epsilon>0[/tex]

Homework Equations

n/a

The Attempt at a Solution

I have tried using Weierstrass M-test but I have not been able to find a suitable series.
As my topic implies I thought I could use some a series of a bell-curve like function, which I have some experience with from a probability course.
But I have a problem finding a suitable expression - let alone showing that this series convergence.

I would appreciate if someone could help getting me started (preferably without solving the entire exercise).

Physics news on Phys.org
Try finding a function > exp(-n^2 * x^2) for every n and whose integral over R is finite.

dane502 said:

Homework Statement

Prove that the series [tex]\sum_{n=0}^\infty e^{-n^2x^2}[/tex] converges uniformly on the set [tex]\mathbb{R}\backslash\ \big] -\epsilon,\epsilon\big[[/tex] where [tex]\epsilon>0[/tex]

Homework Equations

n/a

The Attempt at a Solution

I have tried using Weierstrass M-test but I have not been able to find a suitable series.
As my topic implies I thought I could use some a series of a bell-curve like function, which I have some experience with from a probability course.
But I have a problem finding a suitable expression - let alone showing that this series convergence.

I would appreciate if someone could help getting me started (preferably without solving the entire exercise).

Well, since [itex]e^{-n^2x^2}[/itex] decreases as |x| increases you have