Pulsating Valve-circuit. Controllable impulses

• Thread starter Bassalisk
  • Start date
In summary, a valve is an inductor that works at 24V DC, rated 5W. It gets an impulse, attracts the ferromagnetic inside, and goes into off mode. My questions are: 1.Can I use something like 555 timer to get these signals? 2.I have to be able to control the number of pulsations per second. Ideally through some pot. Is this possible with 555 timer?(I am really new to 555 timers, but understanding them shouldn't be a problem). 3.If 555 timer cannot handle these kinds of voltages, should I use some relay? Are we raising the question of response time? I am going shopping for 555 timer tomorrow, so can you be more specific about this
Bassalisk
So I have this valve(see attachments).

That valve is basically an inductor. It works at 24V DC, rated 5W. At third picture you will see a piston. This is all about 8 cm long (3rd picture including the piston). Just to give you the feeling of size.

How this piston has to work:

It gets an impulse, it attracts the ferromagnetic inside. Let's call that "on" state. After that the circuit goes into off mode, and that little spring that you see at 3rd picture pulls the piston back.

My questions:

1.Having on mind that 24V DC isn't much, could I use something like 555 timer to get these signals?

2. I have to be able to control the number of pulsations per second. Ideally through some pot. Is this possible with 555 timer?(I am really new to 555 timers, but understanding them shouldn't be a problem). We are talking about range of 2-15 impulses per second.

3. If 555 timer cannot handle these kinds of voltages, should I use some relay? Are we raising the question of response time?

I am also aware that I should install the flyback diode, to get better response.

Any suggestions are more than welcome.

Thank you

Attachments

• fc40e1b3b2ff9747be5b7a3b04cd8d5d.jpg
    fc40e1b3b2ff9747be5b7a3b04cd8d5d.jpg
    47.4 KB · Views: 370