Probability Amplitude and Time Evolution Operator

In summary, the conversation discusses the use of quantum physics in finding the probability amplitude to go from one state to another within a given time interval. The operation used for this is <\Psi_{2}|exp(-i\hat{H}(t2-t1))|\Psi_{1}> and can be evaluated by expanding the function exp(H) and using the fact that if Psi is an eigenfunction of H with eigenvalue E, then exp(H) Psi = exp(E) Psi.
erkokite
Hello,

I am fairly new to quantum physics (I'm actually an engineer, not a physicist). I think I am getting a decent grasp on things, but I have a question.

Suppose you have two time dependent states: [tex]\Psi_{1}[/tex] and [tex]\Psi_{2}[/tex].

Also, suppose that we have a constant potential, represented in our Hamiltonian as V.

Our Hamiltonian is thus represented as: [tex]\hat{H}=1/(2m)\partial^2/x^2+V(x)[/tex]

Now suppose that we want to find the probability amplitude to go from state 1 to the 2nd state in a time interval t1 to t2.

It is my understanding that the following operation is used:

[tex]<\Psi_{2}|exp(-i\hat{H}(t2-t1))|\Psi_{1}>[/tex]

This is of course equal to

[tex]\int\Psi_{2}*exp(-i\hat{H}(t2-t1))\Psi_{1}dx[/tex]

However, how do I evaluate the following operation?

[tex]exp(\hat{H})\Psi_{1}[/tex]

Many thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
The general idea of evaluating a function of an operator is to expand the function...

exp(H) = 1 + H + H^2/2 + H^3/6 + ...

If Psi is an eigenfunction of H with eigenvalue E, then it is not hard to show that exp(H) Psi = exp(E) Psi.

Hello,

To answer your question, we first need to understand the concept of the time evolution operator. The time evolution operator, denoted as U(t), describes the evolution of a quantum state over time. In your example, the time evolution operator is represented as exp(-i\hat{H}(t2-t1)).