PhD application after a year and half out of Master's degree

In summary, the speaker has a Master's degree and is considering applying to PhD programs in Canada. They have been working in an unrelated field and mainly teaching children in a developing country. The question is whether this experience will be viewed positively or negatively by Canadian PhD programs. Overall, teaching experience may be a positive factor for TA positions, but it is not a determining factor in the application process. What holds more weight is the applicant's academic performance in their previous education.
renewed
I graduated with a Master's degree about a year and a half ago and am considering applying to PhD programs in Canada. During this period, I have been working in a field completely unrelated to my previous education and the PhD programs that I intend to apply. I have mainly been teaching to kids in a developing country, both for money and voluntarily. Does this kind of experience count as positive for Canadian PhD programs? Or, does it in fact hamper my chances?

Physics news on Phys.org
It's most likely neutral.

Teaching experience can be a positive when applying for positions that include a TA, but it's rarely the kind of thing that will make or break an application.

What really matters is your academic performance up until you finished your master's degree.

Related to PhD application after a year and half out of Master's degree

1. Can I apply for a PhD program after being out of my Master's degree for a year and a half?

Yes, you can definitely apply for a PhD program after a year and a half out of your Master's degree. Many universities and programs have a flexible timeline for applicants and do not have strict requirements for the amount of time between degrees.

2. Will my chances of being accepted into a PhD program be affected by the gap between my Master's degree and application?