Non-industrial controls engineering

In summary: There are languages that are used for embedded systems development and they vary depending on the hardware being used. A few languages that are used a lot for embedded systems development are C, C++, Java, and Python.As for potential markets for embedded systems, any device that has a computing system, that isn't a x86 machine (aka a PC) requires those embedded systems skills. They are in everything from missiles toasters.
tomizzo
Hello PF,

I am currently an undergrad student who is pursuing a degree in electrical engineering with an emphasis on controls. I have 2 years worth of experience within industrial controls while working for a machinery OEM but I would like to see what else it out there.

I am curious about embedded control systems and the necessary skills required. Working with industrial controls, a lot of the programming was done within PLCs which is not the case for embedded systems. What are the common programming languages that I should become familiar with if I were to be working on embedded system (C, C++, Assembly, etc.)?

Furthermore, is there anyone in PF who could shine some light on potential markets looking for embedded systems control engineers (automotive, aeronautic, defense contractors, etc.)?

I would appreciate any help!

Physics news on Phys.org
Controls are one of those things that can be applied to almost everything from Rocketry to waste-water treatment. Some things have to be very fast, but most of them are relatively slow and ponderous. For example, even aircraft autopilots have reaction times measured in major fractions of a second.

Some processes have reaction times measured in fractions of an hour. However, with all the money and the critical nature of the process, they need to give precise controls.