Need help with vector mathematics for solar sensor

In summary: Your Name]In summary, the conversation discusses an engineer's need for help with an expression to characterize energy from 8 different directions at shallow angles using a prototype sensor. The expression involves the summation of each of the 9 sensors, with the reference sensor pointing straight up and the others at different angles. The directional vector and cross product are used to find the component of energy in each direction, and the tilt and azimuth of the solar array are factored in using trigonometric functions.
PVwizard
Hi ALL,

I'm glad I found this Forum. I'm an engineer, rusty with my math, building a practical prototype sensor that will characterize energy from 8 directions at shallow angle, upon
a solar array.

I need help with expression showing the summation of each of the 9 sensors (with the
funnel(with the reference sensor) point straight up, and the other 8 sensor values in terms of directional vector and forming cross product with the vector that represent the Normal to the solar array plane. The array is specified with an azimuth and a tilt (towards South for
north hemisphere locations).

Thanks
-Steve

Attachments

• Tinman-CIPHeadless.jpg
    Tinman-CIPHeadless.jpg
    1.5 KB · Views: 383
Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org

Hi Steve,

Welcome to the forum! It's great to have another engineer on board. I can definitely help you with the expression you need for your prototype sensor.

First, let's define some terms. The reference sensor is the one that points straight up (perpendicular to the solar array plane), and the other 8 sensors will be at shallow angles in 8 different directions around the reference sensor. The directional vector will represent the direction of the sensor, and the cross product with the normal vector to the solar array plane will give us the component of energy in that direction.