Need Help Modifying a Trebuchet: How Do I Set an Equation for the Actuator?

• Thread starter jenann
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Model
In summary, the conversation discusses a student's project proposal to modify a trebuchet by adding a slider and an actuator for controlling the motion. However, the student is struggling with creating an equation for the actuator to achieve the desired positions. It is suggested that the student consult with a professor or mentor in mechanical engineering and utilize online resources for research.
jenann
Hi there, i am a 2nd year mechanical student and currently taking the subject called theory of machine.i am required to do a project for this course.The project requires us to modify a existing mechanism.So my proposal was to modify a trebuchet.i add a slider to control the link's motion. and an actuator is attached to the slider in order to control it's motion. but the problem is i do not know how to set an equation for the actuator in order to make my slider slider to the min and max position that i wanted.Can anyone help me on this??ur help would be much appreciated.

Engineering news on Phys.org
I'm not sure if you're looking for help with the equation itself or the overall design of the mechanism, but in either case I suggest consulting with an expert in mechanical engineering. A professor or mentor should be able to give you insight into the equations and designs needed to modify a trebuchet. Additionally, there are many online resources that you can use to research the mechanics of a trebuchet, such as tutorials and videos. Good luck!

Related to Need Help Modifying a Trebuchet: How Do I Set an Equation for the Actuator?

1. What is a Working Model 2D-actuator?

A Working Model 2D-actuator is a mechanical or electronic system that converts energy into motion in two dimensions. It is commonly used in robotics, automation, and other industrial applications.

2. How does a Working Model 2D-actuator work?