Meet STEM Educators | Get a Shout Out from the Experts

• Thread starter Greg Bernhardt
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Stem
In summary, the conversation involved a group of STEM educators introducing themselves and discussing their involvement in STEM education. One participant is an assistant professor at Cleveland State University, involved in several collaborative programs and grants related to STEM education. Another participant is a middle school science teacher in California, actively involved in various STEM programs and events. Both share a passion for engaging students in STEM and promoting a love for science and technology.
Let's get a shout out from our STEM educators out there. If you're involved in the STEM education world please introduce yourself. Tell us how you are involved and maybe where.

Science news on Phys.org
I'll start.

I'm an assistant professor in physics at Cleveland State University, and I participate in several collaborative STEM education programs with the colleges of education and engineering: CSUTeach (http://www.csuohio.edu/cehs/te/csuteach, developed in concert with UTeach), I am Co-PI on 1 funded (OpSTEM, http://csuw3.csuohio.edu/sciences/dept/mathematics/OpSTEMbrochure.pdf) and 1 pending (IUSE, http://www.nsf.gov/pubs/2014/nsf14588/nsf14588.htm) NSF grant, and am currently working (with my colleagues) to create a stand-alone STEM education center.

My department's culture is also very education-inflected, primarily because of this: http://www.wiley.com/college/sc/halliday. Our SPS chapter does a lot of K-12 outreach activities with local STEM magnet/charter schools (with adult supervision).

Likes Shinaolord and Greg Bernhardt