Maze generation algorithm for specified parts

In summary: The best algorithm will depend on the specific requirements and constraints of the project, but experimenting with different techniques could lead to a successful solution.In summary, the conversation discusses the creation of a labyrinth cutter project that uses a gantry and cutter head to cut a labyrinth to a piece of music. The speaker used Java with J-music to create 400 pieces that need to be placed in a certain order, and is currently trying to find an algorithm to efficiently solve this problem. Suggestions include using an evolutionary algorithm, simulated annealing, or a heuristic search algorithm such as A*. Ultimately, the best approach will depend on the specific requirements of the project.
ponjavic
I am an undergraduate student studying mechanical engineering. We are doing a project called the labyrinth cutter, we're constructing a piece of artwork consisting of a a gantry connected to a cutter head. The cutter is supposed to cut out a labyrinth to a piece of music.

I decided to use the midi file of the music piece to create straight parts with certain lengths. At various beats the labyrinths changes direction.

I used Java with J-music to do this and came out with 400 pieces that now have to be placed in a certain order to create a labyrinth. The lenghts of the pieces depend on the frequency of the note being played and the time between pieces.

I wrote a program in c++ that uses recursive backtracking, simply trying to place piece after piece and see if it fits. Currently up to about 150 pieces is doable but after this the computation time gets way to heavy.

I am wondering if anybody has an idea of a certain algorithm that could be used to solve this or point me in the right direction a bit as I'm not quite sure what I can do right now except for reducing the amount of pieces.

Picture shows a solution with 150 pieces, obviously this won't fill the area.