Maximizing DIY Battery Pack Capacity: Understanding Amp-hours vs. Watt-hours

In summary, the speaker is a university student in the Netherlands who has been assigned to build a robot on a budget. They want to make their own battery pack to power the motors and have researched using multiple AA Alkaline batteries. They understand the concept of voltage and current, but are unsure about the capacity when connecting multiple batteries. After some thought and calculations, they realize that the energy capacity in terms of Watt-hours will multiply, but the charge capacity in terms of Amp-hours will remain the same. Therefore, the battery pack will have a higher output of 3.0 V and 2700 mAh.
CasVS
Hi,

I am a university student in the Netherlands and I just got the assignment of building a robot on a budget. Because of this budget I would like to make the battery pack that powers the 2 servo motors and 2 electric motors myself.

I did some research and found out it would be best to connect multiple AA Alkaline (1.5 V 2700 mAh) batteries. I know my basic physics as the current will stay the same and voltage adds up, though what about the capacity? I understand how this battery works but now my question was if I connect for example two batteries do I get a battery pack that can deliver 3.0 V with 5400 mAh, or just the 3.0 V with again a capacity of 2700 mAh.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
CasVS said:
two batteries do I get a battery pack that can deliver 3.0 V with 5400 mAh, or just the 3.0 V with again a capacity of 2700 mAh.
Think about it ... a little bit more and you will have answered your own question.:rolleyes::wink:

Bystander said:
Think about it ... a little bit more and you will have answered your own question.:rolleyes::wink: