Masters degree for Physics teaching

In summary, the person is an undergraduate interested in teaching high school physics in the US, and is seeking advice about pursuing a master's degree. They are considering either a master's in education or in physics, with the former including student teaching and the latter requiring extra student teaching after graduation. The person is also aware of conflicting opinions on the correlation between a master's degree and teaching performance, and is seeking more information and opinions from current teachers. The conversation also touches on the requirements for teaching in different states and the potential impact of budget constraints on hiring decisions. Ultimately, the person is leaning towards studying physics, but is open to considering a master's in education if it would be more practical for their future career.
DrewD
I am an undergrad who wants to teach high school physics in the US (most likely public school). I am seeking some advice about a masters degree. I could either pursue a masters degree in education or in physics. The M.ed would probably include student teaching. The M.sc would probably require some extra student teaching separately after graduation.

Everyone that I talk to seems to feel that one or the other is the ONLY option! and that I am crazy to consider anything else. I have heard of studies that claim that masters degrees are not correlated to teaching performance. I have also heard that IF there is a correlation, it is stronger for teachers with degrees in the field they are teaching. I have this info from NPR and NYTimes, but I do not know the specific when/where/who for the actual studies.

I have about a year to decide. My personal desire would lean me towards more study of physics since I think that I will learn the most about teaching from actually doing it rather than abstractly studying it. However, that may be influence by the fact that I just enjoy studying physics.