Looking for some advice/guidance

• Thread starter singen
  • Start date
In summary, a person wants to build a motorized lazy susan to test computer mice for maximum speed. They are looking for something that they can control and that will rotate at a speed of 5 to 10 meters per second. They are also looking for a solution that is cheap and easy to use.
singen
Hi, I figured this would be a good place to post a question regarding testing apparatus. I want to test various computer mice for performance (specifically maximum speed) and I'm looking to build (or buy) something that would be able to spin a flat disc at variable speeds. For a similar purpose I've seen someone use an old belt driven record player but I'd prefer something that I could have a little more control over. Does anyone have any simple and preferably affordable solutions? Thanks.

Edit* I should mention that I'm not an engineer or physicist.

Engineering news on Phys.org
After reading my initial post over and thinking about the problem some more I think I can more clearly explain the problem domain. Basically what I need is a motorized lazy susan. I thought of trying to get a simple turn table but I'd rather have more control. While it won't be required to move anything of substantial weight it will still need to move whatever mousepad I use for testing and there is some friction where the mouse is in contact with the mousepad. Also I'd like it to rotate at a speed of 5 to 10 meters per second (I would need the ability to adjust the speed in some small increments).

--Edit--
After quite a bit of searching I think I've found a good solution. My only question is how would I go about calculating my power requirements? I'll be spinning a wooden lazy susan @ 5 meters per second (my calculations tell me that a 15in diameter lazy susan would need to rotate at 250rpm to get my desired speed) so I'm not sure if simple toy motor would work or if Id need something a little more powerful.

Last edited: