Linux command exercise - help a total noob?

In summary, this conversation is about an exercise in using Linux for a physics course. The assignment involves using various commands to print the date, create a directory, move files, confirm the working directory, print user and group IDs, find the version of a command, report disk space usage, use a text editor to add information to a file, and retrieve the file using sftp. Helpful resources for completing the assignment include using the man command, researching text editors and using putty for sftp.
mathman44
Firstly, I've literally never used a Linux machine in my life. My phys prof thought it would be a good idea to get us acquainted with the system, but didn't want to actually teach it...

The following is an exercise in Linux. I'm having a lot of trouble finding the commands to accomplish this.

Homework Statement

1. Enter the command to print out the date in coordinated universal time (UTC). (Hint: Use a
variant of the man command to help you find the appropriate command.) Now, enter the
same command again, but this time redirect (append) the output to a file called Assign2.txt
by following the command with the expression “>> Assign2.txt” (without quotation
marks).

2. Create a directory called Phy258Ass2 in your home area.

3. Move the file Assign2.txt into the new directory you just created.

4. Change to the new directory Phy258Ass2, i.e., make it your current directory.

5. To confirm that this worked, enter the command to print your current (working) directory.
Re-enter the command, this time redirecting (appending) the output to the file Assign2.txt.

6. Enter the id command to print your user and group IDs. Again, redirect the output to the
Assign2.txt file.

7. The id command has an option that gives you the version of the id program and its authors. Find this option and use it, again redirecting the output to the Assign2.txt file.