Lens questions from a software engineer

In summary: A convex-convex lens has a curved surface on two axes, and is more complex to make and use, but it offers better image quality. The focal length and curvature of the lens can be determined using the thin-lens formula, but the cost of the lens is also higher. The real world applications of lenses are much more complicated than this, but the concepts you have covered here are the basics. Thanks for asking!In summary, lenses are used to magnify an object on a camera sensor. There are two types of lenses- a plano-convex lens and a convex-convex lens. A cylindrical lens can be either type. The focal length
tappo
Hello everyone,

I am a software engineer and know very little about lenses but am trying to learn. I am confused about the differences between convex-convex and plano-convex and how to decide how to design an actual plastic lens for a real world application.

Here is an example (not real world, but bar codes seem easy to understand since 1D):
Lets say I want to make something like a bar code scanner for simple bar codes. The bar code is 40mm wide. And I have a 1D camera sensor, which is only 10mm wide. And then let's say the sensor is 10mm away from the bar code. So somehow I need to scale the bigger barcode to the smaller area of the sensor.

Here are some questions:
1) Since everything is 1D, it seems like a cylindrical lens should/could be used, is that true?
2) What kind of lens should be used? (plano-convex or convex-convex, or something else?), this part is very unclear to me.
3) How can I compute the curvature of the lens to get the desired distance between sensor and bar code?

Many thanks for any hints and ideas,
Tappo

Science news on Phys.org
Bar code scanners don't use imaging- they use what's called an f-theta lens to convert the angular motion of the scanning laser to linear motion at the (linear) detector.