Legendre Transformation of Lagrangian density ?

In summary, the conversation discusses the confusion about deriving the Hamiltonian density from the Lagrangian density using the Legendre transformation. It is clarified that the Hamiltonian density is related to the De Donder-Weyl theory and is defined as the canonical stress-energy tensor. Its time component is known as the Hamiltonian and is conserved. The covariant Hamiltonian density has a similar definition but with a different metric.
DOTDO
Hi

I began to study the basics of QED.

Now I am studying Lagrangian and Hamiltonian densities of Dirac Equation.

I'll call them L density and H density for convenience :)Anyway, the derivation of the H density from L density using Legendre transformation confuses me :(

I thought because parameters of them are space-time components, it should be

bandicam 2015-05-03 11-13-28-477.jpg

But I found that this is related to the De Doner - Weyl Theory,

and the H density used in textbook is
bandicam 2015-05-03 11-13-34-326.jpg

where the dot represents time derivative.So, my question is,

why we consider Legendre transformation on only time derivative of phi ?

Is it just 'defined' to consider energy of the system?

Then what does the covariant H density defined in the De Donder - Weyl theory mean?

Physics news on Phys.org
From the lagrangian density [itex]\mathcal{L}[/itex], you can define the canonical stress-energy tensor [itex]\mathcal{T}[/itex] as follows:

[itex]\mathcal{T}^{\mu \nu} = \dfrac{\partial \mathcal{L}}{\partial \partial_\mu \phi_j} \partial^\nu \phi_j - g^{\mu \nu} \mathcal{L}[/itex]

This is a conserved current in the first index:

[itex]\partial_\mu \mathcal{T}^{\mu \nu} = 0[/itex]

Then you can define a hamiltonian density [itex]\mathcal{H}[/itex] in terms of [itex]\mathcal{T}[/itex]:

[itex]\mathcal{H} = \mathcal{T}^{tt} =\dfrac{\partial \mathcal{L}}{\partial \partial_t \phi_j} \partial^t \phi_j - g^{tt} \mathcal{L}[/itex]