Learn the Basics of ICs with this 555 Timer Circuit Tutorial

• Thread starter Bassalisk
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Works
In summary: There is also a dual version the LMD555 which has both bipolar and CMOS versions on the same IC. This is useful when you want to use a bipolar device in a CMOS application.
Bassalisk
http://pokit.org/get/a93c079249cf42fc35c8be34ce9db362.jpg

So I built this. With some minor adjustments. From my previous experience with astable multivibrators, I know that capacitor size means a lot.

So I put 100uF instead of 1uF and I put a variable resistor, linear 1k, instead of R2 so I can control the rate of flashing.

It just happened that I had linear potentiometers 1k laying around so I figured. And what do you know it works!

I am quite new to ICs, I only just "understood" how op amp works.

Google didn't give me much results.

Can anybody help me a bit with understanding of what I built? Anybody can build this but I want an understanding.

You don't have to go IC level a lot, just a bit insight into this oscillator circuit.

Thank you

Last edited by a moderator:
Engineering news on Phys.org
Which part of the data sheet (e.g. pages 7 - 10 of http://www.national.com/ds/LM/LM555.pdf ) don't you understand?

If the application notes don't have enough detail, which part of the block diagram on page 2 and/or the circuit diagram on page 1 don't you understand?

AlephZero said:
Which part of the data sheet (e.g. pages 7 - 10 of http://www.national.com/ds/LM/LM555.pdf ) don't you understand?

If the application notes don't have enough detail, which part of the block diagram on page 2 and/or the circuit diagram on page 1 don't you understand?

Well it looks like a jungle to me to be honest.

Our professor didn't get to 555 timers yet, but I was assigned to design a circuit(outside faculty) which included 555 timer. And I succeeded and it works.

Our professor explained us the op amp through this scheme: