Lagrangian Dynamics, calculating virtual force

In summary, The speaker is studying Lagrangian Dynamics and is struggling to find the generalized forces in a setup involving two bodies connected by a prismatic joint. They have chosen generalized coordinates and are unsure if they should assume the joint to be stiff when finding the generalized forces for a specific coordinate. They are seeking clarification on the proper procedure for calculating the generalized forces.
alanic
I'm very happy that I found this forum, hello everyone.
I'm studying Lagrangian Dynamics and I can't figure out how to find the generalized forces in a setup like this:

Code:
   ____             ____
  |    |    ___    |    |
  | b1 |===|___|===| b2 |
  |____|           |____|

--->x

b1 and b2 are corrected with a prismatic joint that has a motor so it can apply force on the two bodies along the joint. It can also be loose, in which case it won't apply any force and the joint will move in and out freely. b1 and b2 are restricted to move only along the x axis, which is the axis of the joint. Arbitrary external forces can be applied to both bodies. I choose generalized coordinates as the position of b1 (x_b1) and the length of the prismatic joint (l).