Javascript Setup: What am I doing Wrong?

In summary, the conversation is about someone struggling with web programming and encountering an error about python when trying to run JavaScript. They also mention using Mongoose and Sublime 2. The conversation also includes instructions on how to open a web console and suggestions for troubleshooting the issue. The conversation ends with the person stating they solved the problem by installing Node and adding it as a custom "build system" in Sublime.
TheDemx27
Gold Member
I should be able to figure this out myself, I know.

All it will display is text in html: It won't run any js. I am completely new to any sort of web programming and I've been searching the interwebs for hours. I'm using mongoose as my web server, and sublime 2 as my text editor.

JFKDLSF_zps5f48687f.png

Building returns :
Code:
The system cannot find the file specified
[cmd:  [u'python', u'-u', u'C:\\Users\\Demx\\Desktop\\Programming\\index.html']]
[dir:  C:\Users\Demx\Desktop\Programming]
[path: C:\Program Files (x86)\NVIDIA Corporation\PhysX\Common;C:\Windows\system32;C:\Windows;C:\Windows\System32\Wbem;C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\;C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\110\Tools\Binn\;c:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SQL Server\100\Tools\Binn\;c:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\100\Tools\Binn\;c:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\100\DTS\Binn\]
[Finished]

I don't know why it is saying anything about python...

Last edited:
Technology news on Phys.org
What do you mean by building? JavaScript is interpreted by the web browser.

Also you don't need a server for html and JavaScript. Just open the file in the browser by double clicking on it. In your web browser, you can open up the web console where error messages will be reported.

Last edited:
Are you sure it is not main.js or phaser.min.js that looks for python?