Java or C++ for Robot programmeng?

In summary, the conversation discusses a dilemma in choosing a programming language for a mobile robot designer. The designer is considering between C++ and Java and is looking for the most suitable language for complex navigation algorithms and localization strategies. They have experience in both languages but are unsure about the performance on different processors. The conversation also includes a personal experience of using C/C++ for a quad-copter and the factors that influenced the decision. Ultimately, the designer is seeking opinions on which language would be the best choice for their project.
matinking
Hi everyone!

I am a mobile robot designer in autonomous space robotics. there is a great dilemma in front of me to opt a programming language for the robots between C++ and Java.
the most important factor for me is performance of the language when i want to use it for applying very complicated navigation algorithms and very sophisticated localization strategies, for example.
I have experience in working both of them. I got Java more interesting but because of the special compiling process which it has, I feel that it could be run on the PC slower than C++!
I've tried to investigate about them collected the opinions of the other and find somethings but they couldn't help me deciding.
for example:

many of the programmers think that java is faster and have better performance whereas I found it slower...! of course, there is a very important thing. I finally want to program my on a ARM microprocessor or a DSP and I'm not sure that java is slow on them too or not!

but the others think that C++ is more powerful than all languages such as java and its operation is better than Java noticeably. furthermore, descendent of the C++ in design of different robotic packages is undeniable.

All in all, what is your opinion? which one could be the best choice for me?

Thank you!

Technology news on Phys.org
Hi matinking,