Is (S^n) X R Parallelizable for All n?

• Thread starter amd939
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Manifold
In summary, The conversation is about proving that (S^n) X R is parallelizable for all n. The person has tried to show that S^nXR is diffeomorphic to R^n+1\{0}. They are stuck on showing that R^n+1\{0} is parallelizable. Another person suggests that R^(n+1)\{0} is a subset of R^(n+1) and a global frame for R^(n+1) can be written down that restricts to a global frame for R^(n+1)\{0}. The global frame for R^(n+1) is (1,0,...,0), (0,1,0,...,0), ...,
amd939
Hi, I am new to manifold and having a hard time on it. :frown: Could anyone please help me on the following problem. Please write down your thoughts. Thanks alot.

Prove that (S^n) X R is parallelizable for all n.

Physics news on Phys.org
Show us what you've done so far and tell us precisely where you're stuck.

Hi,I tried to show S^nXR is parallelizable by showing S^nXR is diffeomorphic to R^n+1\{0} so if R^n+1\{0} is parallelizable then the problem solved. But I just don't know how to show R^n+1\{0} is parallelizable.

amd939 said:
Hi,I tried to show S^nXR is parallelizable by showing S^nXR is diffeomorphic to R^n+1\{0} so if R^n+1\{0} is parallelizable then the problem solved. But I just don't know how to show R^n+1\{0} is parallelizable.

R^(n+1)\{0} is a subset of R^(n+1). You can explicitly write down a global trivialization for R^(n+1) that restricts to a global frame for R^(n+1)\{0}.

A global frame for R^(n+1) is...

(1,0,...,0)
(0,1,0,...,0)
(0,...,0,1)

Related to Is (S^n) X R Parallelizable for All n?

What is a parallelizable manifold?

A parallelizable manifold is a type of smooth manifold that has a smooth vector field defined on it, which means that at every point on the manifold, there is a tangent vector that is linearly independent from the other tangent vectors at that point. This allows for parallel transport of vectors along any path on the manifold.