Interpreting von Neumann Entropy in Schrodinger's Cat-type Experiment

In summary: Thank you.In summary, the von Neumann entropy in quantum systems is an extension of classical entropy and can be interpreted as a measure of uncertainty. In Schrodinger's cat experiment, the sudden decrease in joint entropy is due to a measurement collapsing the pure state of a subsystem. The thermodynamic entropy can still be calculated, taking into account the quantum nature of the system. A good book on quantum information theory is "Quantum Computation and Quantum Information" by Nielsen and Chuang.
Iamu
***EDIT: This is nonsensical. I'm new to density matrices, and I had a sign error that led to some confusion. In addition... this just doesn't make sense, reading it over. I apologize for the post. I'd appreciate it if a moderator removed this, please.
I'm reading about the von Neumann entropy, and I'm having trouble understanding the relationships between the joint quantum, conditional quantum, and classical thermodynamic entropy. If the von Neumann entropy of a system is an extension of the classical entropy, and the joint quantum entropy of a set of subsystems is equal the von Neumann entropy of the system containing these subsystems, then I'm not sure how to interpret the von Neumann in certain situations. Let me try to apply the von Neumann entropy to a Schrodinger's cat-type experiment.

The Schrodinger's cat experiment describes the evolution of an isolated macroscopic interacting with a (similarly isolated) pure state. We put these elements in a "box" which isolate them from the lab. For simplicity, let's say that the "cat-killing" subsystem which is in a pure state is described by a spin superposition before measurment:

[itex]|\psi>=\frac{1}{\sqrt{2}}(|+>+|->) [/itex]

The density matrix of this state is:

[itex]\widehat{\sigma}=|\psi><\psi|[/itex]