In your own personal life, how often do you use this equation?

• Thread starter eratosthenes2
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Life
In summary: I think it would make a good Dr. Seuss episode though. :smile:In summary, people use the tool K = 1/2mv squared to calculate various things, like energy in everyday life or in physics homework problems.
eratosthenes2
Thought this would be an interesting topic.

so just in everyday life, what sort of stuff have you applied the tool K = 1/2 mv squared for?

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm an engineer who designs heating and air conditioning systems, so I use it or a variation of it a few times a week to calculate fan energy.

I use it very often in my everyday life, usually for answering PF questions :smile:

I use it pretty often, for various engine design and analysis activities.

Use it? What do you mean use it? I am aware of it every time I catch or throw something, every time I step on the gas pedel, and again every time I empty my wallet into the gas tank.

How do you want me to use it?

Well, still being a student...classes.

eratosthenes2 said:
Thought this would be an interesting topic.

so just in everyday life, what sort of stuff have you applied the tool K = 1/2 mv squared for?
Relativity theory homework problems.

Like Integral, say for instance when I see a traffic light turning red and there is a huge truck at high speed sticking to my tail, and the road is covered with snow.

Knowingly? Never.

humanino said:
Like Integral, say for instance when I see a traffic light turning red and there is a huge truck at high speed sticking to my tail, and the road is covered with snow.

No you dont. You think to yourself that truck is coming fast, I better get out of its way. You don't say omg think about the 1/2mV^2...

The truth is no one uses it outside the context of doing a calculation for something they are working on.