How to make: 20% Aluminium Chloride Hexahydrate in Acohol?

• Thread starter Seerath
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Aluminium
In summary, creating 20% Aluminium Chloride Hexahydrate in Alcohol involves dissolving Aluminium Chloride Hexahydrate powder in a specific amount of pure alcohol and mixing it thoroughly until a clear solution is formed. The resulting solution can then be used for various applications, such as in antiperspirants, water treatment, and as a catalyst in chemical reactions. Proper safety precautions should be followed when handling the chemicals.
Seerath
I want to make an antiperspirant myself, i am a bit confuse about the hexahydrate part, for instance i let AlCl3 powder in open for a few days to absorb humidity what is the next step? i am an art student but i wasn't that bad in chemistry in school, it was just my lack of interest in this particular subject.

Chemistry news on Phys.org
Sorry, but due to their potential health hazards, we will not help you prepare your own medicines or cosmetics.

Topic locked.

Related to How to make: 20% Aluminium Chloride Hexahydrate in Acohol?

1. How do I calculate the amount of Aluminium Chloride Hexahydrate needed?

To make a 20% solution of Aluminium Chloride Hexahydrate in alcohol, you will need to calculate the amount of Aluminium Chloride Hexahydrate needed based on the desired final volume of the solution. This can be done using the following formula:
Amount of Aluminium Chloride Hexahydrate (g) = (Desired final volume (mL) x 20% concentration) / 100
For example, if you want to make 100 mL of a 20% Aluminium Chloride Hexahydrate solution, you will need (100 mL x 20%)/100 = 20 grams of Aluminium Chloride Hexahydrate.

2. Can I use any type of alcohol to make this solution?