How Do You Calculate Percentage Error in Period Measurements?

• Thread starter cowking
  • Start date
In summary, The conversation is about calculating the period and percentage error of a recording timer that makes 465 dots in 8.5 seconds. The value for the actual period is given as 0.020 seconds. The person asking for help is a beginner and is struggling with the calculations. They believe the percentage error is 91%, but they are not sure. The expert confirms that 91% is the correct percentage error, but suggests showing the working for better understanding. The expert also apologizes for calling the person asking for help an "ass" and explains that they had just woken up. The final summary is that the conversation ends with the expert clarifying that 91% is not the percentage error and explaining how to correctly
cowking
Help please you all can do this

i am a noob at this here it is

1. Arecording timer makes 465 dots in 8.5s

(A) calculate its period . i have this but i don't know (B)
(B) Its actual period is 0.020s. calculate the percentage error

we are using the T=sec
----
cycles
i am a noob at this

Physics news on Phys.org
cowking said:
i am a noob at this here it is
First rule, then: show some working...

sorry i am not a pro like you but i suck at this but thjx for the help ass and i think it is 91 % but i am not 100%

You could at least show what you have for A

btw: 91% is right - what's your working?

thx man so 91 % is right kewl sorry for calling you a ass it sounded like you where being one

Last edited:
cowking said:
thx man so 91 % is right kewl sorry for calling you a ass it sounded like you where being one
:biggrin:

That's OK - I've just woke up :biggrin:

Actually, 91% isn't the percentage error.

You're on the right lines tho' - if you got the 91%, you've got A, I presume...

Now take the difference between your vale of A and the actual value given, then work out the percentage error