How Can I Plan to Become a Universal Engineer?

In summary: If you are passionate about it and have the skill set, you can find a job in that area. It completely depends on the employer. I am an electrical engineer and at the company I work for projects typically run 1 - 1.5 years. On a particular project I may be doing circuit design, software/firmware control systems, system modeling, some of all of that, or more general software/firmware projects. So there is some variation there. One project may be a hydraulic controller software, the next might be a circuit card design for a video conversion adapter. Between projects I may get very boring work until the next project starts. But none
Thing1
I would like to have job tasks that are as interdisciplinary as possible. I'm trying to avoid boring routine work; regularly growing my skills and knowledge. Could aerospace and chemical engineering accomplish this goal?

Also, is it common to work as an interdisciplinary engineer after you pass the PE test or display outstanding-broad skills/knowledge?

Thanks!

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
There is some overlap between mechanical, civil, and chemical engineering.

So one approach would be to major in mechanical engineering and minor in one of the other two. Take courses in 3D solid modelling, controls, instrumentation, structural engineering, fluids & heat transfer (especially CFD & FEA), pressure vessel design (if available), and process engineering (if available).

Thing1 said:
I would like to have job tasks that are as interdisciplinary as possible. I'm trying to avoid boring routine work; regularly growing my skills and knowledge. Could aerospace and chemical engineering accomplish this goal?

Also, is it common to work as an interdisciplinary engineer after you pass the PE test or display outstanding-broad skills/knowledge?

Thanks!