How a Klein bottle has a 0 volume?

In summary, a Klein bottle is a surface with no inside or outside and therefore does not have a volume. It cannot be embedded in 3-dimensional space, so it cannot enclose a volume. However, it is the boundary of a 3-dimensional manifold and there are other higher dimensional closed manifolds that are also boundaries.
parshyaa
How a klein bottle has a 0 volume?
I am a 12th grade student and i don't know anything about topology,klein bottles but i am curious to know how something which exist has a 0 volume. I just watched clifford stoll's klein bottles video on numberphile and i came here to know how a klein bottle has a 0 volume, please explain it in layman's term if possible, thanks

Mathematics news on Phys.org
A klein bottle is a surface, which is a two dimensional manifold. It has a surface area, but not a volume.

The same applies to the unit sphere ##S^1\triangleq \{(x,y,z)\in\mathbb R^3\ :\ x^2+y^2+z^2=1\}##. That sphere encloses a volume, because it is a closed manifold embedded in ##\mathbb R^3##. But it does not have a volume (the volume is not a measure of any part of the manifold).

The Klein bottle cannot be embedded in ##\mathbb R^3##, so it cannot even be said to enclose a volume (it does not have an inside or an outside).

I haven't watched your video so I don't know whether the talker was referring to 'having' a volume or 'enclosing' a volume.

Likes Logical Dog and dkotschessaa
andrewkirk said:
A klein bottle is a surface, which is a two dimensional manifold. It has a surface area, but not a volume.

The same applies to the unit sphere ##S^1\triangleq \{(x,y,z)\in\mathbb R^3\ :\ x^2+y^2+z^2=1\}##. That sphere encloses a volume, because it is a closed manifold embedded in ##\mathbb R^3##. But it does not have a volume (the volume is not a measure of any part of the manifold).