Higher Math for Condensed Matter

In summary, the conversation revolves around the topic of whether it is necessary for an incoming MS student interested in condensed matter theory to take undergraduate math courses such as algebra, topology, and real analysis. The student has neglected proof-based math courses during their undergraduate years but has a strong interest in computational skills. They have also expressed their research interests in strongly correlated electrons and many-body physics, but are open to exploring other branches of condensed matter theory. The opinions on this topic vary, with some saying it is useful to take pure math courses while others say it is not necessary. The conversation also touches on the idea that without experimental guidance, people tend to trend towards complex theories in the field of condensed matter theory. However, the student can still have an
Kitaev_Model
So, I am an incoming MS student interested in going into condensed matter theory. I have always been more comfortable running C++ or FORTRAN simulations or crunching contour integrals than doing math proofs. I only gained the interest in CMT relatively late in my undergraduate career when I discovered what a horrible experimentalist I'd make(I'm hellishly clumsy), I began coding, and I took graduate level SS physics, meaning I didn't really have the time to go for a second degree in math. Thus, I neglected proof-based math courses throughout my undergraduate period and tended to instead learn stuff on my own, including in graduate level physics courses. This means while I am not completely ignorant about certain parts of "higher" mathematics that can be applied to physics-basic group theory, for example-I lack a truly rigorous background in things like algebra.