Help with Understanding Global Warming Graph

• Thread starter Nooj
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Graph
In summary, the conversation discusses a debate with a global warming skeptic who presents a graph showing temperature data from the last 2000 years. The skeptic claims that temperatures have risen faster and by greater numbers in the past than the current anthropogenic warming. The speaker is unsure of the validity of this claim and is seeking clarification. They also inquire about the use of data from the Southern Hemisphere and express skepticism towards a website that presents paleoclimate data with anti-global warming views. The conversation also touches on the use of air and ice data from past periods.
Nooj
I'm debating with a global warming skeptic, and I'm pretty new at this. He's pulled http://www.clearlight.com/~mhieb/WVFossils/last_2000_yrs.html" graph showing the temperature from the last 2000 years and said that temperatures have previously risen faster and by greater numbers than the current anthropogenic warming. I'm not sure if this claim is true, so I was hoping someone could help me with this.

I was wondering if someone could also tell me if climate scientists usually use data sets from the Southern Hemisphere. I read that scientists use the North Hemisphere mean because there are larger sets of proxy data there (such as tree rings etc). Something doesn't quite feel right about the website.

Last edited by a moderator:
Earth sciences news on Phys.org
I can't comment on the data used there, but temperatures have risen faster and by greater numbers in the past.

You are right to be skeptical of the site though, at first glance is seems to only be presenting paleoclimate data, but here and there are sprinkles of text which seem to have a common theme of being anti-global warming. The contents of some of this text is incorrect or misleading, and there is enough of it to make me think the site has a hidden agenda.