Help With Time-Travel Short Story

• Thread starter skujesco2014
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Short
In summary, the author is outlining a short story called "Borrowed Time." The story follows a company that specializes in relocating people to the present, and the implications of the technology. The story has sparked a lot of controversy due to the company's practices of exploiting people's grief.
skujesco2014
Dear All:
I like to write and I’m a physicist myself. Right now, I’m currently outlining a short sci-fi story called “Borrowed Time”. It goes as follows:

In the near future, science has conquered the technology that allows the manipulation of the flow of time. Space and time limitations, as they were known by the first years of the 21st century, are thing of the past...

Nowadays, an entire company is dedicated to the business of "relocation"...

”Relocation” is the process in which a person is extracted from his or her current space-time coordinates and brought into the present ...

Clients use "relocation" to bring back and spend time with their loved ones, already deceased...

But the technology only allows the "reloc" to be brought back for 24 hours only before being returned...

The rules of the company are clear:

every "reloc" has to be returned to the exact moment in which the extraction took place and under the same circumstances.

No one has ever broken this rule before...

The above is just an outline, but I’ve developed a few characters and the beginnings of an interesting plot. I’ll reveal more, but I just want to know how it sounds to you guys. Comments are welcome.

Physics news on Phys.org
A lot of people are going to have a freaking conniption about this company. I mean, they are literally preying on people's grief. And if the person brought out of their time remembers the experience when they go back, the ethical issues go up by an order of magnitude.