Help with Gauss-Jordan Elimination

• Thread starter clickclick
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Elimination
In summary, the student is trying to solve a system of three equations using the Gauss-Jordan elimination, but is having difficulty understanding the process.
clickclick
Hello everyone, this is my first time posting here, I found the website looking for help. For my finite math homework one of the questions ask to solve a system through the Gauss-Jordan Elimination; here's what I have so far.

Homework Statement

3x + y -2z = 2
x - 2y +z = 3
2x - y -3z = 3

Homework Equations

So when I put it in the matrix I get this:

[ 3 1 -2 2 ]
[ 1 -2 1 3 ]
[ 2 -1 -3 3 ]

The Attempt at a Solution

My problem is that I have not really mastered the Gauss-Jordan elimination. So I don't know the exact rules as to how I can proceed with this. I don't know if there are any limitations as to how much I can multiply, substract, add rows to get to:

[ 1 0 0 ? ]
[ 0 1 0 ? ]
[ 0 0 1 ? ]

Thank you,

Physics news on Phys.org
You can multiply/divide a row by any number and add/subtract any multiple of a row to a different row.

Here is what I got so far:

[ 3 1 -2 2 ]
[ 1 -2 1 3 ] -1
[ 2 -1 -3 3 ] -2

[ 3 1 -2 2 ]
[ 0 -3 0 2 ]
[ 0 -3 -5 1 ] + row 2

[ 3 1 -2 2 ] + 2
[ 0 -3 0 2 ]
[ 0 0 -5 3 ]

[ 5 3 0 4 ] + r2
[ 0 -3 0 2 ]
[ 0 0 -5 3 ]

[ 5 3 0 4 ] + r2
[ 0 -3 0 2 ]
[ 0 0 -5 3 ]

[ 5 0 0 6 ] /5
[ 0 -3 0 2 ] /-3
[ 0 0 -5 3 ] /-5

[ 1 0 0 1.2 ]
[ 0 1 0 -.666... ]
[ 0 0 1 -.6 ]

I don't know what I am doing wrong.

Last edited:
clickclick said:
Here is what I got so far:

[ 3 1 -2 2 ]
[ 1 -2 1 3 ] -1
[ 2 -1 -3 3 ] -2

[ 3 1 -2 2 ]
[ 0 -3 0 2 ]
[ 0 -3 -5 1 ] + row 2
You're not allowed to do that. You can't simply subtract all the entries of a row by some constant. You can only change the numbers in each row by either:
1. Adding some multiple of another row to it or
2. Multiplying that row by a constant.