Help in upgrading my code that converts a lower-case string to upper c

In summary, this conversation was about a beginner in C programming who wrote a code to convert lower case characters to upper case, but wanted to improve their program. They asked how to allow the user to enter more than one word and what the number in the char letter[20] declaration meant. Suggestions were given to use a loop for multiple words and to check the size of inputs to avoid errors. It was also recommended to create a table for more efficient conversion. The conversation concluded with a reminder to carefully plan algorithms and to be explicit in declaring signed or unsigned characters.
blue_tiger30
hello
I'm a beginner in c programming. I wrote a code that converts the lower case that the user entered to upper case characters.
I want to improve my program , but since I'm a beginner i might not be aware of some technics .
my program can only allow you to enter as many characters as you want but without using space (one word ) .
1. how can i allow the user to enter more than one word ?
2. when i say char letter[20]; what does the 20 mean , because i entered more than 20 characters and it worked fine .the code is
Code:
#include <stdio.h>
#include <string.h>
int main (void) {

char letter[20];
printf("please enter lower-case character without spaces and then press enter to get them in upper case:");
scanf("%s",letter);
int nameLength = strlen(letter);
   int i;
    printf("\nthe upper case characters of your entry is : \n");
   for (i=0;i<nameLength;i++) {
        int u=letter[i]-32;
       printf("%c",u);

}
	return 0;
}
what I get is
please enter lower-case character without spaces and then press enter to get them in upper case:hello there

the upper case characters of your entry is :
HELLO
Here I tried checking if the entry was a lower case , but that didnt work even if I enter an upper case it will print -32 form it

Code:
#include <stdio.h>
#include <string.h>
int main (void) {