Fortran77-- retrieve data from large source

In summary: CHEMA in all the files. That will help you get an idea of what you're working with.In summary, you need to input code to read data from a file that was generated by a simulation. The code may be in a language like Fortran, but it is not yet clear to you what you will do with the data. You should first try to understand the syntax of the language and the commands that are used to input and output data. You may also want to look for simpler tools that are available that may be easier to use.
Carl Loomis-Anderson
I'm currently doing a chemical model of Titan's atmosphere and the simulation outputs several files (up to 1000) and I need to get an array of data out of them from a specific section labeled with a chemical name (i.e HC5N) that has an arbitrary number of values (usually above 100). I've seen this kind of question posted before however I'm new to programming and don't quite understand some of the jargon and the scope of previous posts that I've seen has been quite small.

Technology news on Phys.org
You'll have to give more details about the structure of the file.

Likes BvU
The output file is as such:

CHEMA
0.000000D00 0.000000D00...

CHEMB

there are a total of 459 different chemical species with 124 different points of data.

Carl Loomis-Anderson said:
however I'm new to programming and don't quite understand some of the jargon
What you're calling "jargon" is probably the syntax of the language. A program that you write will need to open up to 1000 files generated by the simulation, and read the data from them. I suggest you do some research on the Fortran OPEN statement, as well as the READ statement and the FORMAT statement.

After you have done those things, see what you can come up with for code, and we'll take a look.