"Finding Orthonormal Vectors for 2 Matrices: A & B

• Thread starter oswaler
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Vectors
In summary: When I set Av=#v for #=b I get 3 equations:bx=bx ILCSiby=by ILCS-ibz=bz ILCSwhich seem to be orthonormal, but when I try to set #=-b the result is bx=-bx, -iby=-by, and -ibz=-bz. In summary, when trying to find the eigenvectors for two matrices, you should first find the eigenvalues and then use those values to find the eigenvectors.
oswaler

Homework Statement

for 2 matrices, A and B

A=
a 0 0
0 -a 0
0 0 -a

B=
b 0 0
0 0 -ib
0 ib 0

Find three orthonormal vectors which are simultaneous eigenvectors of A and B.

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

I am very new to matrix math. The first thing that confused me was the use of the term "simultaneous eigenvectors." I looked through a bunch of books without finding it, so I assume the question is asking in general for 3 vectors that are also eigenvectors of the matrices. I understand the term orthonormal (both orthogonal and normalized). I'm kind of stuck on where to start. I tried getting eigenvalues for the matrices but the answers didn't seem to make sense.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

-Eric

Physics news on Phys.org
What did you try? What did you get? Why did the answers not make sense?

I don't know how to put the lambda symbol in here. Let #=lambda

I took AX=#X

so
a-# 0 0
0 -a-# 0
0 0 -a-#

taking det I had

(a-#)(-a-#)^2=0

so #=-a,a

But there should be 3 eigenvalues. If I use these values to get the eigenvectors, I get both vectors = (0 0 0)

When I do the same for the B matrix I get the same result.

Like I say, I'm very new to this. We got this stuff sort of thrown at us at the last minute and I can't find a good similar example in the textbooks I have.

Thanks - Eric

oswaler said:
I don't know how to put the lambda symbol in here. Let #=lambda

I took AX=#X

so
a-# 0 0
0 -a-# 0
0 0 -a-#

taking det I had

(a-#)(-a-#)^2=0

so #=-a,a